anyways, enough about the title. here is what i've been doing for the past 2 days...
we had to get to school early so we get an extra hour to work on our biology prac, so altogether we had a little more than two hours on the prac. woo! as simple as my experiment is, i only finished just in time, as we needed 5 trials. my experiment looks at the effect of pH on the activity of amylase on starch. so in the pictures below what you see is an amylase-starch solution being dropped into wells with iodine in them every 10 seconds. when the iodine no longer turns colour it indicates that all of the starch has been broken down into maltose.
at pH 3 amylase is at its optimum... only took 90 seconds
as pH increases it takes longer to break down the starch:
and longer...
here's an interesting photo :) it's actually just the waste beaker, with all the buffers and starch and amylase and water and iodine.
pH 11 took its time...
anyways, this blog isn't about biology. sorry for all the photos, i just think they're cool...
yesterday i was mostly occupied with english :( stupid english, if only i could understand poetry. i took me a whole day to write the 1000-word speech script, and by the time i finished recording it was well into the night. since i talk extremely slurred and slow, i had to record and re-record so many times i got tired of listening to myself :(( to get within the time limit i sped it up with audacity haha, but it made my voice squeaky so i adjusted the pitch too XD i actually saved enough time for a conclusion yay
other than english, i caught up on my baking too. in the morning we bought strawberries that were only $1 per pint, so i decided to make something strawberry based - strawberry yoghurt cheesecake :)) baking really is the perfect antidote for me, the process of it consumes your thoughts and keep your hands busy. i was lazy so i just crushed up wheat biscuits and mixed it with butter and called it base. i divided the strawberries in two, half was pureed and half chopped for more texture. i didn't really do a good job decorating, just dumped some whipped cream and strawberries on top. anyways, i was pleased with the overall result. the flavour of the wheat biscuits were a little too overwhelming though :( next time i should use digestive biscuits.
may i introduce my new lover, mr electric mixer. up till now i've been making all my desserts manually, and it's such a CHORE. egg whites took half an hour to whip up properly, and by that time i'm usually drenched in sweat. i might as well have been beating with toothpicks. yesterday mum finally convinced me to get one, since i've been resisting because a) they're not cheap; b) i already had one back home but can't use it here because of the voltage difference. it's worth the money though, only took one minute literally to whip the cream cheese <3
my beaters collection/evolution.
a failed attempt at shooting a decent photo of the cake. it's better than it looks, i swear.










